Committee Members

Campaign Steering Committee Co-Chairs Members

  • John Gardner, Ph.D.

    John Gardner founder of the international movement to improve what he coined as "the firs-year experience." In this work, he has been a partner with KSU and many of its leaders, faculty and staff, since 1983, in multiple mutual endeavors regarding firs-year and senior year student transitions and the founding and development of University College. John currently serves as the President of the non-profit John N. Gardner Institute for Excellence in Undergraduate Education; and is the Founding Executive Director of University 101 and the National Resource Center for The Firs-Year Experience and Students in Transition at the University of South Carolina and a M.A. and Ph.D. in English from Georgia State University.
    • Nancy S. King, Ph.D.

      Nancy S. King is the Executive Assistant for Strategic Initiatives at Kennesaw State University (KSU) in Kennesaw, GA. Prior to assuming this role, she was Vice President for Student Success and Enrollment Services, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs, Director of the Counseling and Advising Program Services (CAPS) Center, and the coordinator of the New Student Experience program at KSU. She is also a Professor of English. Dr. King holds a B.A. in English and Psychology from Mercer University and a M.A. and Ph.D. in English from Georgia State University.

      Campaign Steering Committee Members

      • Stephanie M. Foote, Ph.D.

        Stephanie M. Foote is the Director of the Master of Science in First-Year Studies and an Associate Professor of Education in the Department of First-Year and Transition Studies at Kennesaw State University. She has published and presented on her research on college students in transition, and she has developed and taught online courses on fostering the success of first-year students. Dr. Foote currently serves on the editorial board for the Journal of Student Affairs Research and Practice (JSARP) and is the editor for the Journal of College Orientation and Transition (JCOT).

        • Keisha L. Hoerrner, Ph.D.

          Dean of University College Kennesaw State University

          • Stuart Hunter

            Stuart Hunter, associate Vice President and Executive Director for University 101 Programs and The National Resource Center for The First-Year Experience and Students in Transition at the University of South Carolina. During her almost 40-year career in higher education, she has taught first-year students, upper level undergraduates, and graduate students, while the primary focus of her administrative work has been in faculty and staff development designed to help educators improve student learning and program development.

            • Scott L. Johnson, Ph.D.

              Associate Vice President for Undergraduate and International Education SUNY Buffalo State

              • Michael L. Sanseviro, Ph.D.

                Dean of Student Success Kennesaw State University

                • David J. Siegel, Ph.D.

                  David J. Siegel is associate professor in the Department of Educational Leadership at East Carolina University. His work focuses on collective action by organizations to promote social change, with a particular emphasis on initiatives supporting diversity and inclusion. He is the author of the Organizing for Social Partnership (Routledge, 2010) and The Call for Diversity (RoutledgeFalmer, 2003) and is co-editor (with John C. Knapp) of The Business of Higher Education (Praeger, 2009), a three-volume book set. Siegel is the recipient of Fulbright and Lumina Foundation grants. He holds a B.A. from Wake Forest University, an M.Ed. from the University of South Carolina, and Ph.D. from the University of Michigan.