First-Year Curriculum Requirement

As a first-time, full-time KSU student you will be required to enroll in a KSU First-Year Seminar or Learning Communities.

KSU offers four versions of the seminar: KSU 1101, KSU 1111, KSU 1121, and KSU 1200. Each has a slightly different focus, but all are designed to help you grow in four key areas: life skills, strategies for academic success, campus and community connections, and foundations for global learning. These seminars may be offered as individual courses or as part of a learning community.

Students also have the opportunity to enroll in a learning community. A learning community is 20-25 first-semester students who co-enroll in two or more courses that are linked together with a common theme. Some learning communities are for specific academic majors, such as business, nursing, education, or dance. Other learning communities are suitable for a variety of majors and carry themes ranging from “green” living, to social justice, to gender studies and more. The courses in learning communities count toward university degree requirements and are taught by faculty dedicated to helping new students achieve academic success. More information visit The Department of First-Year and Transition Studies.