• A: KSU’s University College is one of twelve degree-granting academic colleges. It is composed of three academic departments. The college also is home to University College Advising Services, the SMART Center, English as a Second Language Center, Supplemental Instruction, Thrive, Achieve Atlanta 

    It offers an undergraduate degree in Integrative Studies as well as an undergraduate certificate in Leadership Studies.

  • A: The name actually originated at Ohio University in 1935, when that institution created a distinct academic college for first-year students. All entering students were required to be affiliated with University College before transitioning to a discipline-based college in their sophomore year. There are dozens of academic colleges named University College across the country, but they are as unique as the institutions where they are housed. An overwhelming majority continue to focus on entering students and academic support.

  • A: President Emeritus Betty Siegel and then Vice President for Academic Affairs Lendley Black created University College in 2004, following the completion of the Foundations of Excellence in the First Year of College self-study. Originally, the college housed only the Department of University Studies (the Department of Leadership and Integrative Studies), which split into two departments in 2007. University College began offering a custom-designed bachelor’s degree in 2005. 

  • A: University College is actually quite similar to the other degree-granting colleges, but it is distinct in several important facets. First, the college serves a large majority of KSU’s undergraduates through its first-year seminars, transfer student seminars, Senior-Year Experience courses, Leadership Studies courses, and academic support services like the SMART Center and Supplemental Instruction. While University College is proud to have its own majors, it is focused on ensuring student success for all KSU’s undergraduates. It is also interdisciplinary, serving as a model for colleges of the future as it develops innovative curricular and co-curricular programs.

  • A: The Dean’s Suite is located in the University College building, which is #430 on the campus map. The Department of First-Year and Transition Studies is also located in building #430. The Department of Leadership and Integrative Studies is located in the Library, which is #385 on the campus map, and the Department of Culinary Sustainability and Hospitality is located in the Prillaman Health Sciences building, which is #520 on the map. Orientation and Transition Programs is located in the Student Center, and University College Advising Services (UCAS) is located in Willingham Hall, which is #420.